Martyrs and Devils

This guillotine is a mirror held out to her own behaviour

Her ashen knees strewn on cobblestone as the villagers gather up around her

The crowd steadily increasing in mass while looking haggard in God’s good grace

She exuded the language of emotion itself in the form of a perpetual embrace

Kneeling below her distorted reflection of a blonde maiden in need of validation

Eyes encased in a crimson tint staring back at her own indiscretion

Never exonerated by the very beings she dedicated her transcendent life to protect

The people believe it is morally applicable to stand by to the social contract

She was made in His image for gender is only fabricated in a physical plane

They gazed at her beauty but were rendered immobile by their own pain

She’s more than a marginalized woman occupying our world and so to give in to temptation,

The distortion dissolves beneath her eyelids before the mirror meets the source of its reflection

14 comments

  1. This is beautiful. I love the diction. Very dense but in the good way because it lends to the heaviness of the theme by adding depth.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The One-Eyed Angel · May 19

      That was exactly the metaphor her that I was trying to convey. Thank you for your comment!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I feel like prof. X now. getting all in your head lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • The One-Eyed Angel · May 19

        Maybe I’ll feel understood for once lol these comments mean so much to me

        Liked by 1 person

      • Well glad I could connect with you through your work. I see creative works as communication between the creator and the audience so I’m inclined to comment or else it feels like a one way conversation. lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • The One-Eyed Angel · May 22

        Likewise! I agree with you. And it feels great to be acknowledged for something that comes purely from myself. I should return the favor. As soon as I’m able to, I will reciprocate and check out your blog again soon.

        Like

      • Look forward to seeing you!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Veena · May 25

    Now this is an excellent post .So much depth and substance.It speaks for an entire black period of history. Correct me if I am wrong. So well written.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The One-Eyed Angel · May 25

      Thank you! I feel like I got my groove back! Lol It represents how women are marginalized in this world and every single culture. It shows how society would rather give into Authority in the law then stand up to the truth. All people are equal no matter if you’re a man or a woman no matter if you’re black or white or Asian. Every human life matters but it is fear that prevents us from Define the law just because it is a law even if it’s wrong.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Veena · 29 Days Ago

        Hi
        You sure have given a worthy explanation .I totally agree with you. The devils must be condemned.

        Liked by 1 person

      • The One-Eyed Angel · 29 Days Ago

        Society, as a whole, must fight for what’s right. If there’s one person out there trying to make a change for the better, they need support or else nothing will happen.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Veena · 29 Days Ago

        Very true ! Let optimism prevail .

        Liked by 1 person

      • The One-Eyed Angel · 29 Days Ago

        I agree. We are better together. šŸ˜‡

        Liked by 1 person

  3. The One-Eyed Angel · May 25

    Defying*

    Like

Leave a Reply

