Landscape

“I would pin you down 

like a father does

and have my way with you 

whether you like it or not, 

and I’m not going to stop 

until I’m empty inside.”

I can’t see the landscape anymore.

It’s all obscured in my grief.

You have Jesus on your breath,

And He dances in my lies.

Pink serpents brawl to the death,

A sensation so divine.
Lovely intermission of a loner’s descent.

You have faith that I’m giving you what you want,

A faith misplaced keeping this addiction satisfied,

I pull away to prevent

Sin to be committed 

On these many acres of longing.
To spare you a visit to the landscape,

Trekking through mountains of tenderness,

This drunken stupor in the Garden

Is not enough to not care,

To not make you tainted

By the landscape I painted.

Leave a Reply

