Confessions of a Hopeless Romantic

You think you’re the only one who hurts? One thing that mankind has in common with its own brethren is that we all suffer and experience such impeccable pain. You are doing the best you can. There’s a lot of pressure on your shoulders because many people depend on you. But it is such a blessing to even know you and for you to even want to spend time with me, let alone talk to me at all. I learned in life no one ever has to spend any time on me. They do it because they want to, not because they have to.  Every social interaction and every relationship established between two people is a blessing and it should be cherished and appreciated no matter how it ends or if it ever does. You don’t have to go through everything alone anymore. We could be a team. I have your back and you have mine. It would be a give and take. That’s how it should be. I’m so sorry that you have endured such past hurt, but I am not the one to blame. I noticed you generalize quite often, and I would hate for you to not indulge in the discovery we can have together just because you place me in a box with other men. You would lose so many opportunities with that sick habit of yours. You think I don’t know why you’re afraid to love again? I’ve been hurt too. You cry a little but so do I. And if you give a little, so will I. Look here, I know you said we should take things slow, but I don’t think we have being doing that anyway. We’ve already made love. Shouldn’t we have already done that after the fact? I know you said we could date other guys and that you wouldn’t mind if I was talking to other guys, but I don’t want to date other guys and I don’t want to talk to other guys. I want to be with you and only you. I think about you all the time. I yearn to be in your presence and for our passion and tenderness that we share in the bedroom. I want you to be mine and I want to be yours. I know you want to take things slow but we haven’t been taking it slow the whole time. If we can make love as beautifully as we’ve done, then why not go to see a movie together or have dinner together? I want to be a part of your life. I want to meet your family and friends and I want you to meet my family and friends. I want to integrate you into my life and I want you to do the same. Is that so bad?

Leave a Reply

