The Merry-Go-Round of Death

When the lights go out
Our nation recalls a tragic past
I surrender to my doubt

Four strikes muted every shout
Twins fall to every airborne blast
When the lights go out

Charitable race ends on Death’s route
Bombs ignite for runners first through last
I surrender to my doubt

Children’s safety tends to be flout
Easy targets fall so fast
When the lights go out

To escape the closet one must be stout
Lives full of pride destined to end where shadows cast
I surrender to my doubt

To what does it all amount
The Merry-Go-Round of Death leaves me aghast
When the lights go out
I surrender to my doubt

Leave a Reply

