Back to Basics

The arrow struck me down
Right before he flew away.
I landed in a rosy meadow.
I made my bed with the earth
At the foot of a Grecian goblet.
An elixir filled it to the brim.
It sparkled gold beneath the Sun
Like a spectre looming over the beat of life.
So bright and so peculiar,
I’m blind!

A wooden sign nidificated the rim:
“Sip it slowly
Don’t gulp it
Savor the flavor
Give and take”
– Give and take…
But no one else was there.
I looked around but all was wilderness,
Trees swaying to a silent song,
Grounded but not solitary.

A distant memory vacated repression.
I’ve been in this clearing before.
Someone whom I used to know,
Living off of every word they said,
His words were my grave,
But no more!
So I consumed a handful of ambrosia.
My reflection reached out of the goblet
To rid me of the tears
And the fears
Of the harsh reality that I once forced myself to accept.

But I’ve escaped my captor.
Now I have no master.
Others want to burn with me,
But they don’t hold a candle.
So the golden hand took a piece of my heart.
It was my cue to scoop up more of the elixir.
The empty void in my chest became full again…
Fascinating!
I never did this before!
Perhaps it begins here.

image

Feel free to check my latest book, a book of poetry called Trials and Tribulations! http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B018ZR0IVA/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?qid=1460319936&sr=8-1&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_QL65&keywords=trials+and+tribulations+sufian

5 comments

  1. Game Of Words · May 19, 2016

    I love it. Boosts your imagination. Perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

