Is “being human” an excuse to sin?

Hello to my fallen angels! As you all know, I am a very spiritual person. As people, we tend to use the excuse, “I’m human. I make mistakes.” But is it a way to convince yourself and others that sinning is okay? I see and hear others sin all the time. Adultery. Hypocrisy. Lust. Vengeance. Gluttony. (Unfortunately America is well-known for their “gluttony.”) It’s true that humans aren’t perfect and striving towards perfection is daunting. However I believe we should at least try. If you’re cheating on your spouse, own up to your sins. It’s may be scary to face your scorned lover, but they deserve to know the truth. Whatever happens after will happen naturally. They might want to talk about it, they might want to kick your ass out, or maybe just break up. Certain things in life can be resolved assertively. I think it would be rather redundant to list ways to prevent the sins I listed earlier. But my point is, it’s cowardly to hide behind lies and excuses to justify committing a sin. If you are aware of what you’re doing, work on trying to stop. Who knows? Some people are not aware of the harm they cause others, but God will always find a way to point out and make you pay for the sins you may commit. Karma. What goes up must come down. Only the truly wicked sin, know they are sinning, but never do anything to change their ways. So saying “I’m human. I make mistakes” only works in some cases. If you forgot to take out the trash or incorrectly filled out an application for a job, for instance, those are mistakes. And if you always feel you must get even with someone or if you murder people, then those are straight up sins. Know the difference between a mistake and a sin. It’s a lot to ask for you to contribute to making the world a better place for us all, but at least try. Have a wonderful day, my imperfect-but-still-beautiful fallen angels! Over and out.

6 comments

  1. christkeepscreatingu · May 20, 2015

    True that. I agree 100%! I would say however that saying ” I’m human and I make mistakes” is still a somewhat justifiable thing to say about yourself as a sinner IF you’re committed and cognizant of what your walk with Christ is like.

    Example: I lust after a woman and step over the line. I know I’m going straight to the Man Upstairs about it, but am I going to kill myself over it and be super harsh on myself? No. I’m only human and I make mistakes. Of course I’m going to try hard to not do it again. Can I guarantee it won’t happen again? Nope.

    But Jesus is the only one who’s perfect you know? At least for me, realizing I’m human is a great thing because I’m only proving how perfect He is. 🙂

    (all of this is agreeing with what you said haha just writing to clarify I guess if committed Christians don’t understand the difference between making excuses and realizing your always imperfect compared to Christ)

    Liked by 1 person

    • tpcsufian · May 20, 2015

      I like your honesty. It’s a good topic to debate about but it does regard religion so it’s easy for it to go out of control. I understand what you are saying though. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • christkeepscreatingu · May 20, 2015

        Haha for sure my good sir! That’s the unfortunate part about what we write though as faith driven dudes. Sometimes it’s kinda…difficult to convey without giving people ammo to spray bullets everywhere haha!

        I like your honesty and conviction in your post as well! That’s what we’re here for you know–lifting each other up! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • tpcsufian · May 20, 2015

        I agree. We give each other new ideas and support. Because at the end of the day, we’re all human and we all want to feel like we belong somewhere.

        Liked by 1 person

      • christkeepscreatingu · May 20, 2015

        THIS! These are the moments that make me happy to be able to share thoughts on the Internet!

        Glad we met haha

        Liked by 1 person

      • tpcsufian · May 20, 2015

        I feel the same way! Glad we met indeed 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

