Breezing past lingering stares

Hello to my fallen angels!  How are you doing on this glorious day? So I have mentioned in one of my past endeavors that I have diplopia (double vision). I had it since I was 12 years old. And now that I’m 21, yesterday was the first day I mustered enough courage to wear my eye patch in public and not just in the sanctity of my own home. I realize people stare at me regardless because I am forever the black sheep so might as well avoid anymore headaches while I’m at it. I breeze past their lingering stares because this is who I am and I can’t allow myself to be ashamed of my physical disability. I love who I am and If I need to wear an eye patch to live my life easier, then I’m going to do it. I don’t care what people think anymore. I was a shy little boy meandering through the halls of grade school. Now I am a young man whose wise, independent, witty, loving, and resilient. I wouldn’t change a thing about me because I know if anyone else ever walked in my shoes, they probably wouldn’t be alive today to tell the tale. I am having eye surgery for the third time in my life soon so I hope in my heart I don’t have to wear this eye patch much longer. Penance is free and resilience leads to contentment. Have a wonderful day, my fallen angels! Over and out.

4 comments

  1. Bunnet · May 27, 2015

    I work on older gentleman before, very nice who also had the same condition and wore eyepatch for it, we talk of disabilities and how we can turn them into positive things, how they mark us but also lift us

    Liked by 1 person

    • tpcsufian · May 27, 2015

      That’s true. A lot of hardship in my life actually steered me away from worse things happening. So who knows what horrible thing my diplopia prevented me from experiencing? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Bunnet · May 27, 2015

        It also makes us stronger people, who have overcome all this and are still at top

        Liked by 1 person

      • tpcsufian · May 27, 2015

        I love the fact that I can always say “I been through worse.”

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

