Penance through a dream

Several weeks ago, I had a dream about my ex. Don’t worry, I am not leading you through a detailed naughty, sexual anecdote. But rather that of a virtuous, vivid dream that helped me repent with a former flame. It started with a petty argument that resembled one of our many real-life feuds. Then he stops and he looks at me with those serious yet sympathetic eyes of his and says, “I miss taking care of you, I miss buying you things.” Fighting back tears, I reply, “I am not a child anymore. I am grown now. Treat me as an equal.” He closes in on me and says, “That’s ridiculous.” In the dream, mind you, I am going through the depression that accompanies a broken heart. Friends are slowly disappearing, bummed out by my helpless agony. I begin to heal at a very lucrative pace. The next scene shows me finally starting to get my life back on track. I have a job and I am interacting with a customer when my ex comes in post haste with a gun and starts shooting up the place. A co-worker ushers me towards a safe haven behind a dense collection of aisles. He eventually runs into me, as if he didn’t know that I would be there that day. It was that split second of hesitation that allows the cops a chance to bring him down. He looks at me as he lays dying with those sympathetic eyes of his and utters his last words, “will I become an angel?” I crawl beside his potential cadaver and hold his trembling hands. I nod in response to his interrogative. The only response I ever had that was true. I woke up in tears before my sister-in-law comes down the staircase to give me a heartwarming hug. I forgive him. That was the melancholy part of this story for I never thought I could forgive an ex without expecting anything in return. Have a wonderful day, my fallen angels. Penance is freedom. Over and out.

2 comments

  1. The separated husband · May 1, 2015

    Hey, I’ve had dreams which feel similar in that there is depression in them and also some feelings of forgiveness towards my wife, I too often wake up crying….had strange one about her going blind a few weeks ago and she asked for my help,which I’m sure I would still provide..

    Liked by 1 person

    • tpcsufian · May 1, 2015

      that’s beautiful. no matter what quarrels you been through with a former flame, there was a point in your life where you truly loved and cared about this person. You never forget that and the pain that instills within stems from the fact that everything is said and done and they will never look at you the way they did when you first met them. Theres a level of respect and cordiality that always remains.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

